Running for Office





YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED that on the seventh (7th) day of November, 2017, a non-partisan general election will be held in the City of Alpharetta, Georgia to elect three (3) members of the City Council (Posts 1,2 and 3) for a full four-year term each. All posts are at-large positions. Those candidates receiving a plurality of the votes cast for any position shall be elected.

The election shall be held at the regular polling places of the City of Alpharetta and the polls will be open from 7:00 A.M. to 7:00 P.M. on the date fixed for the election. Advanced voting will be available at Alpharetta Library beginning on Monday October 16th and ending on Friday, November 3rd from 8:30 A.M. to 7:00 P.M. Saturday hours will be from 8:30 A.M. to 7:00 P.M. and Sunday hours will be 12:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

Those residents who wish to qualify as a candidate in the election shall file a notice of candidacy in the Office of the City Clerk no earlier than 8:30 A.M. on August 21, 2017 and no later than 4:30 P.M. on August 23, 2017, and all candidates for election shall designate, at the time of qualifying, the post for which they are seeking election.  All candidates for election to City Council shall pay a qualifying fee of $450.00.

Those residents qualified to vote at the election shall be determined in all respects in accordance with the election laws of the State of Georgia, and the Charter and Ordinances of the City of Alpharetta. Those residents who have not previously registered shall make application for registration no later than the close of business on October 10, 2017. Residents may make application for registration in person at City Hall or any other Fulton County, Georgia registration location, or in any other manner, and at any other location authorized by the laws of the State of Georgia.


                                                                                                                                Coty Thigpen, City Clerk

                                                                                                                                City of Alpharetta, Georgia

The City of Alpharetta is governed by a mayor and six council members. The Mayor is chosen by popular vote. Council members run for a specific post but are elected by a city-wide vote. City of Alpharetta elected officials serve for terms of four years and until their respective successors are elected and qualified. Terms of office begin on January 2 immediately following the date of election to office. No council member elected and qualified for three consecutive terms shall be eligible for the succeeding term. No mayor elected and qualified for two consecutive terms shall be eligible for the succeeding term.

Elections are held every two years and are conducted by Fulton County Elections Division.

No person shall be eligible to serve unless that person shall have been a resident of the City of Alpharetta for six months prior to the date of the election, shall continue to reside in the City during the member's period of service, and shall be registered and qualified to vote in municipal elections of the City.