City of Alpharetta Website Banner

Community Development



CITY HALL ONLINE / City Departments > Community Development

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT




The Community Development Department guides the growth and development of the City of Alpharetta to enhance the quality of life of our community while recognizing the city’s historic and natural features.

The Community Development Department led the city’s efforts in achieving a Gold Level certification through the Atlanta Regional Commission’s Green Communities program.

Alpharetta was the first city in the State of Georgia to achieve this accomplishment. This highest level certification demonstrates Alpharetta’s commitment to resource conservation and sustainability.

This is just one of the many ways the Community Development Department is dedicated to facilitating a livable and sustainable future for the City of Alpharetta. 

The Community Development Department has two divisions:

1) Planning/Zoning/Land Development 
2) Building, Construction, Permits, and Inspections

In addition, the Department also provides the following services:

Code Enforcement
Sign Permits
Business Licenses
Tree Removal Permits

The Community Development Department administers the following documents and regulations:

Comprehensive Land Use Plan
Zoning Ordinance Unified Development Code
Building Codes
Subdivision Regulations
Property Maintenance Code
Sign Ordinance

The Community Development Department also:

Processes applications for Public Hearings               Current Zoning Cases
Reviews plans for permits
Issues permits and performs required inspections.
Coordinates economic development activities
Provides staff support to the Planning Commission, Board of Zoning Appeals, Design Review Board, Development Authority, and Code Enforcement Board.

 

Contacts


Chris Keown, Building Official ckeown@alpharetta.ga.us Direct Line: 678-297-6084

Robert Strachler, Civil Engineer rstachler@alpharetta.ga.us Direct Line: 678-297-6218

Eric Graves, Senior Engineer - Development Services egraves@alpharetta.ga.us Direct Line: 678-297-6220

David Shostak, City Arborist dshostak@alpharetta.ga.us Direct Line: 678-297-6229

Bret Schroeder, Design Review Board bschroeder@alpharetta.ga.us Direct Line: 678-297-6088

Dawn Crowley, Specialized Assistant (Open Records Requests) dcrowley@alpharetta.ga.us   Direct Line: 678-297-6079

Kathi Cook, Deputy Director (Public Hearings) kcook@alpharetta.ga.us Direct Line: 678-297-6073

  
Location:
2 Park Plaza, Alpharetta, Georgia 30009

    Print this page   Comment on this page