Mayor And Council Oath - News Graphic

Mayor, Three Council Members Begin New Terms

Released January 05, 2024 10:11 AM
The start of the year brings a new face to City Council and new terms of office for our Mayor and two returning Council Members. During a special ceremony on January 2, Mayor Jim Gilvin, Mayor Pro Tem Dan Merkel, Council Member John Hipes, and new Council Member Fergal Brady were sworn into office.

The evening marked the start of the final terms in office for Mayor Gilvin and Council Member Merkel. Alpharetta's City Charter limits the number of terms an individual can serve as Mayor to two full terms and the number of terms an individual can serve as a Council Member to three full terms. Each gentleman is now serving his final term under those limits.

Council Member Brady begins his first term as a member of the Alpharetta City Council, though he is certainly no stranger to being part of Alpharetta's leadership. Brady has served our community for many years with stints on the Planning Commission and the Alpharetta Development Authority. He also co-chaired the citizen committee that championed the 2011 bond referendum that was overwhelmingly passed by Alpharetta voters, funding many of the improvements that revitalized Downtown Alpharetta.